Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is not a newly-proposed idea that professors in the university should spend some time working in the industry or other non-academic institutions relevant to their field of interest. I agree with this viewpoint to some degree, but hold that it should be well regulated and organized, otherwise it will be a harm rather than an opportunity for the academy.

There are a myriads of advantages for professors to work outside the university for some time. First, it will ensure the ongoing research in the lab would not be so irrelevant to the real world that have no practical use at all. Moreover, by working in the industry for some time, the professor will get better knowledge about what kind of students the employers are looking for in the job market. This will give the professor more idea about the lecture design, so the students would benefit from it.

Saying this though, these benefits might not be equal to every subject. While it is for sure beneficial for a Computer Science professor to have some experience in working in a software company, it might not be as much necessary for a history teacher to work outside the academic field. In fact, it depends on the nature of the subject. If a subject is initially set for solving a practical problem, like engineering or criminology, then it might be a great idea to make the professor work outside the academic world. However, if the very aim of the subject is to fulfil human’s curiosity, like mathematics or history, then the necessity of putting the professor in the real world would be lower.

At the same time, there might well be some disadvantages of the suggestion. The first thing we may need to consider might be the professor’s availability of time. It is apparently not a great idea to ask a professor to cease his/her research project to work outside, as that might be just impractical for some projects which need to be done in a certain period of time. Consequently, the professors must work part-time in a company. This may give them a lot of pressure, thus harm their devotion to the academic research or teaching activities. Besides, the university also need to take into account the risk that if the professor get well-paid in the company, they will get a feeling of imbalance after returning to the laboratory, thus their working motivation would be hampered.

In conclusion, the suggestion that university faculty should be required to spend some time working outside the academic world amount to a two-sided sword. The effectiveness depends on their field of interest as well as some other factors. Therefore, I would argue that the university should carry out the policy with a degree of carefulness, to maximize the benefit while minimize the harm it may cause.