Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

For students in order to objectively identify and improve their own status in education, quantitively measuring their grades should be required. However, spurring to get high scores and evaluating the students based on scores can cause side effects causing lowering the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Of course, measuring the students’ grades in a quantitive way contributes to have opportunities to enhance their own level in education by identifying the current level which is based on their weak and strengthen areas. Also, for the students to get higher scores, comparing scores and competing students could spur for them to focus on their studies by themselves. Especially, in South Korea, there have been many systems - students’ grades are posted on boards or even students’ seats in class are assigned based on their grades - to inspire competitions among students, which is true to considerably contribute for them to focus on their studies to defeat other competitions. However, as a result, earlier learning unprecedently advents and most students acquire required knowledge only through private schools in Korean education, thereby eventually lowering the quality of learning in public schools.

Also, competition for high grades among students can lead to concentrate on educational purpose only in a short term. By competing students for higher scores, they consider to acquire only knowledge to be able to get a high grade to behind other competitions rather than any fundamental knowledge in depth during learning. In Korean education, all education systems focus on only education ways to be able to get high scores for entering universities, especially such as a cramping system of training which many Korean students depend on in their learning without their own autonomous. Thus many Korean students lose their focuses on studies after entering universities, which brings about a notorious dishonor that Korean students are genious world wide until entering universities. That is, competition for high grades produces the result to lower the quality of learning which is the ability for students to be interested in any learning area and try to acquire whatever they want to know or understand with their own autonomous.

In sum, if the purpose of competition among students is just to inspire them to ameliorate their level by themselves, it benefits for them to concentrate on their studies and to get more understands in their learning. However, any extreme competition among students cause to lose educational fundamental purpose and even forfeit the ability to try to acquire their desired knowledge by themselves, thereby lowering the quality of learning at all levels of education.