Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement mentions that the competition between students to get high grades will limit the efficiency of the education system. However, competing for high scores is beneficial for education system.

Competition is not bad all the times because students will try their best to get the best results which can be the encouragement for improvement at most situations. Imagine a student who does not put enough effort to get good grades. On the other hand, the same student will try to spend necessary time to make sure that she will understand the concept to get high scores when she sees her classmates’ high grades. As a result, the competition is a very good trigger for students to learn the courses deeply.

Additionally, the competition between students is not going to limit the quality of learning and teaching because it can make an education system even more efficient. Consider a teacher who wants to make sure all of students will understand the course perfectly, so she will put all students' scores on the board where all classmates can see them. This strategy can make all students to study hard to get the best score they can. In this case competition will make more connection between teacher and students to work on the course materials.

On the contrary, some parents and teachers may believe that the competition will ruin the education quality which can be true in some cases. For example, a sensitive high-school student may get jealous of her classmates who always achieve higher grades than her in chemistry classes. She may change her behavior with them or get mad of them for different reasons, so in this specific case, the competition will not lead to positive outcome. It might bring the confidence of that student low and can even cause future emotional problems for that student. In addition, that student may not be willing to learn the concept correctly anymore because she only cares about getting high scores or she might even end up cheating on exams to get high score which is not good.

It is important for all students to compete with each other properly to get high grades because it brings the quality of education even higher.