Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Feedback is a crucial part of any workplace, academic setting or everyday life, it is the representation of how the work we perform are judged by others. The affirmative ones give us a pat on the back while the critical ones usually provides a direction for improvement. We often value feedback differently, whether conscious or not, depending on the people they originate from. Some may only value critical judgements when it comes from someone who is an expert in that field. However, I would argue that while it is true that experts are more capable in providing critical judgement, more often than not, perspective from those with a different background can also be just as insightful and valuable.

Without a doubt, an expert would be in a superior position than a layperson to provide critical judgement merely due to their extensive knowledge on the subject matter. This is true especially in highly technical fields. Take mathematical proofs as an example. To the undertrained such as myself, practically any claimed solution the four-color problem would be undecipherable, let alone identify any possible mistakes in the process. In this case, opinions from those not educated enough in the field hardly matters, as they are simply not equipped with the knowledge to fully comprehend the work in the first place, not to mentioned giving a justified critical judgement. Extending this idea to a more accessible field, in sports, those who are most seasoned usually understand the game, the player as well as the tactics much better to be able to provide judgement.

Nonetheless, the current societal development shows more and more collaborations in different disciplines. This usually calls for the input from other fields to justify the decisions made based on a particular field to be valid in all contexts. For example in developing a chemical plant operation, the chemist, the engineer and the economist will certainly be basing their considerations from different grounds. The chemist may want to design a process that maximized the yield of the product. The economist, perhaps who knows nothing about chemistry, could punch in the numbers and realize that such a process would be too costly to be sustainable. In this hypothetical example, had the chemist not be willing to accept any critical judgement from the economist, not an expert in chemistry whatsoever, the chemical plant may never be built because no investor would want to partake in a project with no profit in sight.

Additionally, it is often those who haven't been 'overexposed' to a certain school of thought for too long who can provide the most innovative insights. The development of behavioral economics partially stems from pschycologists' criticism that nobody truly behave the way the classical economists pictured the "perfect rational" person does. The acceptance of this idea from outside of the economy realm and the combination lead to the birth of behavioral economics, recently acknowlodged to be an impactful topic by a Nobel Prize.

To sum up, while it is the case that experts are usually in more advantageous positions to provide critical judgement, those that come from people outside of the field should certainly not be ignored. In fact, it is often the acceptance and incorporation of the judgement from a different perspective that leads to development and innovations.