Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement linking critical judgement’s value negatively with the respective critic in terms of expertise irrespective any field and stating that if a judgement comes from a novice or inexpert one then it will carry a little value. While structural criticism is a prerequisite condition for any kind of progression in any field and it will do better performance if comes from an expert. I mostly agree with the statement for two reasons.

The statement attempts to bridge between connoisseur’s criticism and the status of any work in a positive way. This prevails in any field especially in arts and paintings. When a judgement comes from an expert of that particular field, it must bear great value and consequently will influence the artist to further work on the art and to polish it for better output. For instance, during the cubism era if a novice artist got any acclaim or any criticisms from the most famous artists Pablo Picasso, then he would take that seriously and with much more importance. On the contrary if the same judgment came from a layman or a person not involved in painting, it actually didn’t carry any kind of value.

Not only in the field of arts and paintings but the same statement also goes for science. Suppose a microbiologist is trying to develop a vaccine for a long period of time. As it is taking lot of time and huge resources, a person from another field, may be from social science or economics judges the scientist’s work as futile project. Does this criticism carry any value? Obviously not. Whereas if any expert in vaccine technology attempt to judge the process, he will take account all the pitfall and the trial and error that may delay the ultimate reach. He may opine in a constructive way that will actually help the scientist to reexamine the whole process and let him do some modification to make it faster.

In many cases, inexpert persons can do critical judgement and that carries great value. For example, in democratic country, general people are the critics of the government and the leaders are selected through their votes. Their judgement about a leading party carry huge importance and it determines, which team will lead the country for next few years. However here expert opinion also plays great role. People follows other people who is more prudent, wise in any field. General people’s opinions are often swayed by expert opinion.

So in any kind of filed for cumulative progression, expert opinion is prime and bears great value whereas inexpert and layman’s judgement carries little value sometimes.