Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Critical judgment of a piece of work from someone in the fields other than the creator himself or herself often provides incisive opinions that possess meaningful perspectives different from that of the creators. As a result, nowadays, the multidisciplinary collaboration from different professions is encouraged as the opinions and comments from those different area results in the desirable outputs or inventions. Thus, I contend that critical judgment also has its value even though it may be not derived directly from someone well-known in that specific area.

Many science disciplines now take advice from experts of other seemingly irrelevant fields. On top of that, those scientists even incorporate their own expertise and technologies within their own domain to assist their research projects. Take the human genome for instance. Billions of dollars have been spent on deciphering the human genetic code. However, the innumerable repetitive base pairs impeded the breakthrough in its development. Thanks to the aid of the powerful computational techniques and sophisticated analytical algorithms from the field of computer science, those chaotic patterns in the huge amount of gene pairs can be transforming into a comprehensive and meaningful dataset for biologists. This case exemplifies the importance of the critical evaluation and opinions provided by experts other than the original discipline itself.

However, critical judgment from non-experts, or even laypeople, also has its values. In many fields, such as marketing and politics, feedback from customers and citizens are very important. For example, in the field of marketing, it is important to understand the demands of targeted customers. In this case, opinions and advice from them are both indispensables in assessing the suitability of product design or consumer preference which are keys to the company’s success. Similarly, governors and legislators who advocate certain policies also need to assess the effectiveness of their policies by listening to the feedback, comment, and even criticism of citizens. Critical evaluations, rather than experts, from these laypeople, provide more direct and precious inputs concerning their needs.

Despite the importance of critical judgment from non-experts, it may not necessarily hold that their opinions are always needed or beneficial. Some fields are highly professional or even highly regulated, making it difficult to take ordinary comments from normal people. For example, in the field of medicine, it would not be realistic to survey to gather opinions from people like an accountant or a janitor to improve the quality of a heart transplant or brain surgery. In other words, these are fields that require years of experience to be proficient, and thus these professionals may only take advice from their peers or experts of similar professions.

As we can see, critical judgment from people outside that specific area also has its values. It is almost always welcome to listen to advice from different fields as they might provide unexpected perspectives and inputs. However, certain fields are so highly differentiated that advice from non-experts cannot be easily assimilated. In short, critical judgment is imp[ortant, but it also depends on the nature of that specific field.