Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

We, as humans usually have a tendency to think that we are always on the right, no matter what our thought at that time might be, whether tragic or good. So, to discuss a controvertsial topic with a person with contrasting view is always going to a challenge for both the parties.

Let us consider a controversial topic of earth and it's existance. At a time, it was believed to be flat, and that all the planet and sun goes around the planet earth. But scientists like Plato and Galileo discovered that earth is round and that it and other planets goes around the sun. When they tried to correct this view of public, they berated him for having such an outrageous thought. Even the church outright ridiculed their discovery at the time. For centuries, the initial thought that led us ultimately towards space were made a laughing stock.

Again, let us consider a topic of using paper bag instead of plastic ones. Conservatives will say that it is good for the long run, but people with diffident views would lambaster it by stating the production costs, economic problems, ease of use just to prove their point, even though they are in the wrong on promoting the use of plastic.

Even the most trifling discussions of movies with an open ending, in which a user is left upon his imagination to think of an ending ends up as a chaotic affair with others. Everyone has a different version of ending, but the contrasting views tend to affect others opinion, each person want to prove that their version of ending is the best, causing a conflict and a never ending deadlock. This, in turn, might create self-doubt, confusion and maybe even a conflict amongst others.

So, whenever a controversial topic needs to be discussed, it must be kept in mind to dicuss the version of thought while keeping in mind other people can have a contrasting view, which either must be coalesced with the current thought, or must be corrected along with the person with contrasting view.