The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Given excerpt from the speech given to the School Board aims at mandating study of computer science for high school students. The given excerpt does make sense, but with some caviets.

One of the statement made that if the course is taken, then the students will get high paying jobs is entirely inaccurate. High paying jobs are very relative with respect to the company the employee is working. If a person is working in one of the top technology-based company, then there is a very high chance that they might earn huge sums of money. Since every technology-based company is not at the top, the stipend of the company will be relative to how well the company is doing in the market.

Another statement that the software engineering and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries is again, entirely incorrect. Even in tech industry, there are two kinds of employees just like regular jobs i.e. Full-Time Employees and Contractual Employees. If you look carefully, most of the employees in big technology-based companies are either contractual or outsourced from another company in order to meet the requirement of the competing market. And in those employees is a plethora of software engineers and data scietists who are barely meeting the ends. Again, as stated above, it depends on where the employee is going to be employed.

But another statement made that taking the computer programming course would actually benifit them given the industries are becoming more technological is far more benign than other statements. Let us take an example of two men working in a car manufacturing company, 'A' and 'B'. 'A' had taken course of computer programming and 'B' had not. Now, the plant manufacturing the cars had shut down, and both do not have a job. So, in the current job market, there is a better chance for 'A' to get another job as he would be more versatile and is more likely to make the switch from car industry to the tech one.

As stated in the above points, certain key points must be considered into making this long-term decision for the curriculum as it is going to affect many generations in the future.