The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article in newsletter aims at proving community service serves a bilateral aim i.e. to help the community and to encourage overall growth of student. This initiative will help in achieving that bilateral aim. But the author is just looking it more as an objective and less as a subjective matter.

In the newsletter, the article aims at showing that both student as well as local charities will tend to work together to achieve same objective. But due to the fact that the community service is proposed as a graduation requirement for the course, the students tend to take the community service just like an uninteresting subject, attending a charity just for the sake of it, so that they can get a grade. There is almost little to no incentive encourage other than being a compulsion for a long period of 9 months, which in turn enervate the students towards the charity.

Also in the article, there is very little emphasis of what kind of local charities (like environmental or wildlife) will be approved by Dean's office. This could potentially lead to a lot of confusion over which charity to choose from. It could cause chaos amongst students over which charity to choose from. This could backfire to Dean's office as many student might not turn up to charities with real interest, or there might be a high number of requests for same charity, or a request to even get a different charity onboard.

The article strongly emphasise on developing moral and ethical values in student, and make them a better person in the future, but the fact that it has been made a compulsion by university to graduate could lend to chaotic affair between student and the charity, which overall would overshadow the main objective of why the program was brought in the first place.