Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In this fast-paced world, the high educational institutions are faced with increasing problems more than ever. Along those problems, there is one that most students and institutions would pay attentions with: Should the educational institution shoulder the obligation to set the requirement by which institutions could refuse those students not good enough? To some extent, It does make sense since it could indirectly enable unqualified students to find the appropriate field. However, it should be constrained within a reasonable range.

The educational institutions, such as universities, definitely should have the responsbility to guide the students' direction in a certain degree. In fact, universities in USA do make attemptions to guild their students. In the first two year of univeristy in USA, for the required courses, most students are only allowed to select some foundational ones which likewisely are the foundational courses of other fields. At the same time, students have a great number of selective courses of other majors, helping them find the majors they are really interested to. major tranfers is common and convenient. By this course structure, students could find their desired major and universities fulfill their responsbility as guide the students.

Nevertheless, the final decision subjected to the educational institution is clearly controversial with respect to the rights of student. Therefore students should own the decision to choose their future when they had sufficient understanding of different fields. According to a survey conducted in China by the HZNU, along those top students in different major, 50% of them claimed that the interest is the key supporting factor. Additionally, following panel study reveals that students motivated by interests have comparatively higher average salary and position compared to other students, indicating the interest is a important boosting factor in their career. The interest, however, is difficult to quantify. In this sence it should be left to the student to make the decision of the suitable field.

Still, the appropriate guidance from educational instituion are essential to students. There are several possible dilemmas from which innocent student could suffer. The interest is not a contributing factor all the time. For instance, in China, there a considerable number of high school student persuing to major in medicine and become a doctor by which they can achieve their goals as the professional and merciful life saver. Without knowing the exact required courses which cover tons of textbooks, they entered this major, and managed to fulfill all the requirements to graduate and finally become crestfallen by the low wages and risky working conditions of doctors in China. There could be a better return for all the effort of those students if the high school open a occupation introduction course. Therefore, the educational institution truly should shouder the responsiblity to prevent student from entering to inappropriate fields.

To sum up, the educational institution should be in charge of the commitment to preclude students from choosing the improper major by introducing all the potientially appropriate fields to student and left the decision to students thenselves. In this way, students could choose the right major and have a better career.