Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The author claims that the educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are not much likely to succeed. I partly agree and partly disagree with the statement. The educational institutions undoubtedly have a major part in shaping the career of students, by imparting knowledge of various fields which the students are interested in. Suggesting the students what is good for them and what is bad is the job of the institutions. Although it is important for the educational institutions to suggest the students about the fields those are more successful, they may or may not force it upon the students by dissuading them. At the end, it is the students who will choose what is best for them.

Educational institutions do have a major role to play in the student's lives, by teaching them in different fields of study, and encouraging them to pursue studies in a specific field of their interest. The institutions have to show students what is best for them by taking examples of their seniors, or professor's, or proper counselling. Example, if a student is confused as for what field he or she should choose, then they can be properly guided by the esteemed institution.

There are certain students whose interest lies in a specific field of study, which no matter what others say, will not differ or change. The students may have great talent and knowledge in that field, and most of the times, students like them are bound to succeed. Educational institutions, in such cases, must recognise that talent, and support the students, so that they will come out with flying colours. Citing the example of famous scientists, Albert Einstein was considered a failure during his school days by his teachers. His talent went unrecognised, and he was deemed not fit for education. But he is the one who had enlightened the world about the 'Theory Of Relativity', and many such complex physics of the earth and the world. Einstein was one such example of a gifted student, who proves that, if the student has talent, then they will suceed in their field of study which they are interested in. Though he was discouraged during his younger days, he managed to become successful. But not all students are like that.

The world is vast. Unlike the gifted students, many students need constant support so that they will get the required exposure for going forward in their careers. Taking an example situation, if a student has interest in a field of study, but the educational institutions recognise that, that specific student is unlikely to succeed in that field, rather than dissuading the student, the educational institutions will do a better job, if they help the student where he or she is lacking, and improve his weaknesses, and in turn show them better oppurtunities where they can be successful in their respective careers. This is a win-win situation for both students, as well as the educational institutions.

In conclusion, the educational institutions will do a much better job if they show alternate fields to pursue studies, rather than dissuading the students. This will help students improve on themselves, and build self confidence, which will inturn boost their interest in other fields of study. Also, recognising genuine talent and enouraging them is important, so that they will break this norm of "unlikely to succeed" in that field. This will be encouraging to fellow students as well, to take up such fields of study.