Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions play a pivotal role in any student's life as it is the major influencer that molds them in their growing years. Hence, they do have the ability to carve out the path of students for them by either persuading/dissuading them regarding a particular field of study or career option. But, I believe that such abilities are not to be used to dictate lives of students. I would like to support this stance of mine with the below 3 reasons.

Firstly, The definition of success is not universal. Every individual according to his own personal beliefs and social conditions will develop his/her own sense of success matrix that cannot be generalized. if educational institutions dissuade students from following their own gut feeling and choosing a field of study that interests them, then it might cause future dissatisfaction in these individuals that can have detrimental consequences throughout their lives by not allowing them to reach their definition of "success". hence, keeping good will of students in mind, schools/colleges should definitely refrain from intervening in such important choices of students regarding their future.

Secondly, schools and colleges are supposed to be centers that allow children to have a period of exploration in their life when they have all the freedom to put themselves out there and assimilate knowledge from all fronts. By discouraging any field of study, we are limiting the levels of creativity that the kids are getting exposed to. art and science are indeed considered as unrelated fields to this day by most people, but in reality, they have been interwoven in different situations. For Instance, in order to understand the structure of benzene in organic chemistry, it needed the scientist a level of art acumen to come up with the cyclic ring structure that opened many more avenues to explore the science of organic chemistry further. art in itself can be considered a science owing to how closely artists that work on architecture of buildings need to consider scientific feasibility to bring the art to life. The above two examples stand testimonial to how important an influence of one field might be on another. Hence,no field should be under-estimated by students under the influence of their schooling because it might end up clipping their wings in the future.

Thirdly, even if we do assume that the schools take a responsibility to guide students towards studies with future scope alone, I strongly believe that in this dynamic world that we are living in no one has the ability to extrapolate which field will definitely be thriving in the coming future. so taking such calls are just going to prove hazardous for the students who are being subjected to such restrictions.

I believe some might argue that if such a responsibility is taken by schools then unemployment rates might reduce and brighter future of students can be better ensured. I would like to point it out that employing students is not to be considered to be equivalent to generating machines that are trained for particular tasks alone, only when we provide requisite freedom of choice to students will they be themself able to mitigate employment crisis in the form of developing start-ups in fields that have for long hidden between booming fields of today. In conclusion, I strongly endorse that no intervention by educational institutions should be made so as to ensure the natural course of an individual's life is going to play itself out and bring out the best in them!