Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

The speaker strongly advocates that students should be guided and uplifted to choose fields of study that would lead them to lucrative careers in future. Despite the fact that educational institutions are obligated to help students be prepared to survive the real world after graduation, their main role should be expanding students’ horizons, encouraging them to figure out their passion, and achieving personal fulfillment.

The speaker’s claim is based on a myth widespread in today’s society that economic success is the most important measure of personal accomplishment. Consequently, those jobs that have a generous salary tend to be thought of as prestigious enterprises, whereas equally noble professions, such as social work, the performing arts and teaching which unfortunately do not pay as well, are considered common and average. I think, however, it’s more important to assess one’s talent and interests, and find a job that the both of talent and interest could fit into. One would feel fulfilled when he excels in his work; moreover, he would also be willing to develop skills in order to meet higher demands, which would further improve his work performance in turn. In contrast, it would be miserable for someone who end up doing something they are not interested in or not suitable for, however highly-paid as it is. They may not be enjoying their work and lack the motivation or capability to improve their working efficiency. Thus, they chance for long-term personal fulfillment will be very small.

Besides, there exist no such majors that could secure lucrative careers in future. A booming industry that provides well-paid jobs cannot necessarily keep growing fast in the next decade.

On one hand, almost all the industries are susceptible to the business cycle. Some industries that flourish during expansionary periods may suffer severely during contractions, like retail, restaurants and hotels. On the other hand, some unexpected events might abruptly cause drastic disruptions to or even reshape certain industries that were associated with lucrative careers prior to the event. For instance, the airline industry, with a large number of highly-paid pilots, was dealt a massive blow by the 11 September attacks, and now has been hit harder than ever in living memory by the novel coronavirus crisis. As COVID-19 continues to sap demand, a lot of companies within the industry had no choice but to urge employees, pilots included, to take extended leaves or even have potential mass job cuts. Therefore, even if some students may make up their to pursue lucrative careers, education institutions can hardly guarantee that by encouraging them to choose certain fields of study, because they surely cannot foresee lucrative careers in future.

Admittedly, it would bring some advantages to students that have related background in hunting lucrative jobs. However, to get a well-paid job and excel in the career requires a set of additional skills that are not usually taught in class, including strong learning capability, great interpersonal skills, showing diligence at work, and etc. It is not difficult to catch up on the basic knowledge of a certain job even though someone probably did not take relevant courses at school; in fact, people would find it relatively painless to switch to a new well-paid career if they have developed the skills mentioned.

To sum up, educational institutions do have the responsibility to prepare students to have a successful and fulfilling career in future, but not prematurely concentrating on the lucrative fields. What schools really should do is to help students to figure out their strength, interests, and future goals, and also to show the various job types available in the real world, so students can choose their own career path with confidence.