The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position

In this essay it will be defended that a leader’s effectiveness should be measured by looking at the well being of its population. Even though some critics might oppose this by saying that every person should only be individually be responsible for his own well-being, it is not at odds with the idea that a leader should provide the foundation for that.

First of all, the claim can be held because leaders of a country are supposed to serve its own people, instead of simply serving themselves. This is one of the main difference between a rogue state that is full of corruption, and more legitimate forms of government such as democracies. While this might sound somewhat idealistic to the critical listener, a leaders whose effectiveness is measured by the well-being of the country’s citizens is indeed incentivized to be less egoistic and rather concerned with the problems of the overall population.

After having established the theoretical framework why leader’s effectiveness should be measured by examining their effects on the population, it is also important why the well-being of the population should be focused on. Critics might argue that other measurements such as the GDP are more useful and easier to measure indicators of a leader’s effectiveness. However, it should be argued that a rising GDP is only considered positive because it is a mean to greater well-being. So why not measure well-being directly itself?

While the last paragraph has shown that measuring well-being is superior to other indicators, this paragraph opens the box of pandora of what well-being actually constitutes. Well-being is a holistic term, and can be broken into two sub-categories, such as physical and emotional well-being. To increase physical well-being a leader must fight absolute poverty. Every single person must have access to necessities such as food, shelter and water. If that is guaranteed, a good healthcare system may also increase well-being. Furthermore, a leader is incentivized to be peaceful and diplomatic, since wars could greatly diminish physical well-being of its population. Emotional well-being can be increased by relieving people from stress through providing a good childcare and pension system which will decrease their existential worries.

This essay has shown that a leader’s effectiveness is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens by showing that leaders are supposed to serve the population instead of enriching themselves, by highlighting the advantage of a holistic measurement such as well-being over measurements such as GDP, and by giving various examples of how well-being can effectively be increased through certain policies. If we want to make the world a better place, we must judge our leaders not by their words or intentions, but simply by the outcomes of their rule on the well-being of its people as long as it does not come at the cost of someone else's well-being.