Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

As a member of society, everyone is subjected to the innumerable number of laws that exist in said nation. While only just laws would exist in an utopian society, oftentimes laws are passed that can be considered unfair such as previous restrictions on voting that existed in the early years of the United States. In order to rectify the wrongs of unjust laws, every individual in society must obey the fair laws and resist the immoral ones.

If every individual were to resist unfair laws, societal injustices would be righted at a much accelerated rate. Laws are occasionally passed which seek to benefit a small group of the population at the expense of another group. For example, in the early United States, only white property owners were allowed to vote in elections. However when this clearly unfair law was originally ammended, the new law gave the right to vote to all white men and specifically forbade women and blacks from voting. Those unjust laws unrightfully discriminated against both woman and blacks while benefiting white men by giving them all of the power to select the leaders. Had every individual in that society resisted those unfair laws, the lawmakers would have had no option but to extend the right to vote to all. Thus, resisting unfair laws provides the potential to force rulers to enact just laws for all.

On the other hand, critics might take offense at how people might be resisting these unfair laws. They could argue that unless the resistance is peaceful and civil, those protesting would be breaking just laws. However while peaceful resistance is always prefered, occasionally violent resistance is necessary. Take as an example the plight of slaves in the early United States. The slaves were being unfairly imprisoned at their owners' estates by unjust laws which allowed humans to legally own one another. This issue divided the Northern and Southern states and ultimately lead to the United States Civil War which resulted in the outlawing of slavery. While many thousands of lives were lost to resist the unjust law, no other peaceful method would have overturned that law. As such, while peaceful resistence is preferable, occasionally the immoral rules will not be adjusted without more aggressive methods.

Additionally, just laws must be followed regardless of an individual's thoughts on them. Many citizens complain about the seemingly unfairly low drinking age laws and speed limits that, according to them, are preventing their rights. However, those laws exist to ensure the safety of everyone including those partaking in those activities. For example, there are limits on the maximum speed a person can drive because those limits seek to ensure that not only will that person be unlikely to crash his own car and injury himself but he will not crash that car into another person. Thus, just laws are ones that must be religiously followed in order to protect everyone.

In conclusion, individuals within a society are required to resist unjust laws and avidly obey those which are fair. Without proper law and order, society as it exists today would crumble.