Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

I disagree with the claim that individuals in a society have a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. I believe individuals are responsible to obey laws, whether they seem just or unjust. Promoting the idea that members of a society ought to disobey and resist any law with which they disagree is dangerous. We should encourage society members to use proper channels to challenge the laws which they believe are unjust.

Our society is based on democratic law. As such, our current laws represent the values and needs of our society as a whole. If an individual of our society disagrees with a particular law, we could all be in danger if that individuals belief conflicts with the greater good of our society. For example, if John believes he should be able to use methamphetamines, and therefore chooses to produce them in his home despite the current ban on methamphetmines in our country, this could put many other individuals in danger. Methamphetamine production creates many toxic byproducts, and faulty production can result in dangerous explosions, both of which put his neighbors in harms way. John may be justified in his choice to endanger himself by using methampehtamines, but he is not justified to endanger his neighbors.

Some might argue that obeying unjust laws only serves to reinforce those laws, but I disagree. Many laws in our country and been changed or modified over the years. An important example is abortion. Abortion was previously illeagal in our country. In resistance to the unjust laws, many women obtained illegal abortions. These abortions were not safe and were often performed under unsanitary conditions. Through out legal system, we have now ensured that women have the legal right to abortion. Seeking action through appropriate channels did not reinforce prohibition of abortion, but led to it’s legalization. By following the proper legal channels, and obtaining legalized abortion, woman now have access to abortions at safe and sanitary medical facilties, and the unjust laws were changed.

As responsible citzens, we have the right to obey laws. The responsible response to unjust laws is to change them.