The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

I agree with the recommendation given in the prompt that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. Every human being that wants to be self reliant and be able to think on their own without much outside knowledge influence must be able to do away with what they are familiar with. Been over reliant with what you are comfortable with impedes growth. I will be agreeing this prompt with three main points and these points are as stated below.

Firstly, with the advent of internet, people now tends to have access to resources in a click of seconds by searching about the information online which has made knowledge acquisition much more easier for people. Someone that is familiar with a particular topic can leverage on the internet to get more knowledge and increase his/her knowledge base. A person that thinks he is comfortable with what he knows will never grow and the knowledge base of the person will be minimal and his/her approach to issues will also be very minimal. The person must be able to do away with familiar knowledge. For instance, I have always been comfortable using the typewriter to type my assignments but with the advent of the computer, I had to learn the use of Word processors like Microsoft Word to use in the typing of my assignments, if I had got hooked with the typewriter, i would not be able to increase my knowledge base and which would be detrimental to my self-knowledge acquisition.

Secondly, as human being, we must learn to discard with outdated knowledge, we must be able to acquire new knowledge and increase our knowledge base. Over familiarity with a field impedes growth. We must learn to reject the things we are familiar with and embrace what we are not familiar with which would allow us to grow in knowledge. For instance, I used to be very good in Visual Basic programming language, I have used this to develop software for clients but these days, people tend not to use the language again, if I had over relied on the Visual Basic language and not learn new languages like C#, java and Python, I would not be up-to-date with the happenings in the tech field. So my been able to reject familiarity with a programming language has made me to acquire new languages and also allows me to gain self-knowledge in the new languages.

Furthermore, as a human being, our over reliant on other people for sustenance or survival tends to impede our self-knowledge. Some people will not assist you no matter the situation you are. It is imperative as human being to try to do away with what we are familiar with, embrace new challenges and acquire new skills. This will also make the thinking ability as human being to be increased. For instance, I used to know how to ride bicycle very well, but upon getting a new job at a far place from home which will make riding bicycle to work very difficult for me, I had to use YouTube first to learn the basics of driving a car after securing a loan to buy my first vehicle. Using the YouTube for this reduced my number of hours i would have needed to pay for an instructor to teach me how to drive. Knowing how to drive helped me to reduce my cost of transporting from one place to another and also not relying on trains to pick me up which made me more efficient and resourceful at my place of work,

I know that some will disagree with my points stated above and counter it with the fact that I can always rely on other peoples knowledge but for how long will that be? How long do I have to be dependent on a knowledge that I have acquired for long and which may not be of relevance to modern day technologies?. We must learn to reject or reduce dependence on any familiar knowledge as it impedes growth and embrace the acquisition of new knowledge and this will in turn help to actualize self-knowledge in the long run.