The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

As the prompt as stated, the real talent of a popular musician cannot be accurately assessed until the demise of the musician, this is highly correct and I strongly agree that most popular musicians are only usually appreciated for their talent after death. I will be supporting my bias with three main points as stated below.

Firstly, most of the musicians are prophets in their own sense of it. most of the music they sing encompasses some prophetic sayings that tells about what will happen in future which when released as a song by them might not have occurred but now that they are dead, the prophetic sayings has materialized. For instance, there is a musician in Nigeria known as Sikiru Ayinde Barrister, he has warned about the emergence of a terror group if the people of the country are not given adequate education. The prediction has come to happen now and many people now make reference to his songs. Many believed that he has foreseen this and more people now tend to appreciate his talent.

Secondly, there are some musicians that their songs are always interpreted to be inciting and also tend to divide people of different religion and tribes. Whereas, these type of musicians are only trying to call the attention of people to some areas they are not paying attention to and which at the end of the day, people tend to appreciate their sayings after it might have been late. For example, there is an Hausa musician in Kano state Nigeria, Dauda Hassan, he always sang about the majority Muslim north suppressing the rights of the minority Christian in the north, most Muslims see this as divisive but he is only using his music to call attention of people to what he thinks is not right and should be corrected. Most people see this as very wrong until many years after his death that most things he sang about now started happening. Some of the things he sang about includes nepotism, favoritism and friendly "padi-padi"(Doing things to only people close to you) things which has made the country more worse. Most people now believed that if what he has always said has been taken into recognition, there would have been some corrections. This particular talent of his was only recognized and assessed after his death.

Furthermore, it has been noted that most musicians album sell more after their death. More people tend to listen more to their music after their death. The reason for this is not far fetched from old adage that says "We only become a monument after our death". For instance, Michael Jackson hit track album, "Billie Jean" sold more than 100m copies after a year of his death and whereas the same album did not sell more than 2 million copies his entire lifetime. People tend to understand more the teachings of the album after his death.

I know that there are lots of musicians whose talents are well appreciated and assessed while still alive like Snoopy Dog, R Kelly etc. but I am of the opinion and believe that these guys will be more appreciated after death. It is a human thing, there will be some parts of their live that has not been appreciated now that will later be appreciated. I strongly believe that the talents of musicians are accurately assessed after the death of such musician.