The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

While it might be true that Buckinghum College ought to expand its space for accomadating and attracting more incoming students, making the author\'s argument fairly plausible, a closer scrutiny reveals that the argument is not substantiated by the evidence proffered in the memo.

To begin with, the author asserts that Buchingham College should construct new dormitories because the number of students is predicted to double in the next 50 years. This is problematic because it is really difficult to prescience how many students will there be in that long period of time. Although the school\'s enrollments are growing currently, this trend is not likely to persist for 50 years.

What is more, adducing the rising cost for renting an apartment in the town, the director of student housing concludes that off-campus housing is less affordable for students. It is not clear that, however, whether the students really find it difficult to live off-campus. In fact, many colleges and universities lies in less rich communities, and the expenditure for off-campus housing can even be lower than that for on-campus ones. Before any further evidence regarding the price for housing in nearby regions is offered, the author\'s argument simply does not stand.

Last but not least, we do not know whether new dormitories would be attractive for prospective students or not. When choosing which college to apply for, there are a plethora of things students need to consider, teaching quality and reputation of the college being top of them. The author neither convincingly show that the conditions of dormitories are taken seriously by applicants, nor does he or she elucidate how the new dormitories can be a truly fancy attraction standing out among many other factors that sway the students' decisions.

In conclusion, the director of student housing at Buckingham College sees it imperative to build new and attractive dormitories, claiming that students are growing and off-campus housing is getting more expensive. But the memo lacks concrete evidence to espouse the argument, which does not necessitate the building plan at all.