Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

In the preceeding argument, the author claims that the declining population of arctic deer in Canada can be attributed to global warming, citing the temporal correlation of the two. The argument seems to be quite plausible at first glance; however, a closer review sheds light on a plethora of facts that require concrete evidence for support.

To begin with, the author only adduces reports from local hunters that arctic deer population is shrinking. Nonetheless, it is not clear whether these reports and reliable. Experienced as the hunters are, there are still many factors that affect the observation and counting of arctic deers. For instance, the timing and location of hunting may not be suitable for meeting the deers. That hunters encountered fewer deers does not necessarily mean that the population of arctic deer is actually decreasing. To draw this conclusion wifh confidence, evidence must be gathered by a methodical and scientific investigation carried out by professional ecologists.

What is more, even if the number of arctic deers in Canada has witnessed a decline in the past, the real causes of this phenomenon still remain elusive. The author believes that the deer population dwindled due to global warming simply based on the concurrence of these two events. This is problematic because it lacks both logic and evidence, and is over-general. It is not impossible that the deer population is suffering a drop just because it is over-hunted by local residents and tourists. Without additional evidence, the claim is not validated at all, although global warming may well serve as a factor contributing to the dying of deers.

Last but not least, warmer environment can exert multifarious influences on the survival of arctic deers, unble to migrate between islands through ice on the sea perhaps being only one of them. Meanwhile, global warming is also likely to make the plants that arctic deers feed on more scarce by altering their growing environment, which absolutely diminishes the deer population. Therefore, it is ungrounded to assert that global warming endangers arctic deers by restricting their mobility across the sea.

In conclusion, while global warming appears to be a compelling player in the declining population of arctic deer in Canada, the analysis and statements are not supported by evidence proffered in the passage. More endeavours are expected to figure out whether arctic deers are really dying out and what are the reasons leading to this.