Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceeding argument, the author claims that the declining population of arctic deer in Canada can be attributed to global warming. The argument seems to be quite plausible at first glance; however, a closer review sheds light on a plethora of facts that require concrete evidence for support.

To begin with, the author only adduces reports from local hunters that arctic deer population is shrinking. It is not clear whether these reports are validated and reliable. Experienced as the hunters are, there are still many factors that affect the obversation and counting of arctic deers. That hunters encounter fewer deers does not necessarily mean that the population of arctic deer is actually decreasing. To draw this conclusion wifh confidence, evidence must be gathered by a methodical and scieitific investigation carried out by professional ecologists.

What is more, even if the number of arctic deers in Canada has witnessed a decline in the past, the true real causes of this phenomenon still remain elusive. The author believes that the deer population dwindled due to global warming simply based on the concurrence of these two events. This is problematic because it lacks both logic and evidence. it is not impossible that the deer population is suffering a drop just because it is over-hunted. So additional evidence need to be collected to support this claim, although global warming may well serve as a factor contributing to the dying of deers.

Last but not least, warmer environment can exert multifarious influence on the survival of arctic deers, unble to migrate between islands through ice on the sea being one of them. Meanwhile, global warming is likely to play other roles, like making the plants that arctic deers feed on more scarce, which absolutely dinimishes the deer population. Therefore, it is ungrounded to assert that globle warming endangers arctic deers by restricting their mobility across the sea.

In conclusion, while global warming appears to be a compelling player in the declining population of arctic deer in Canada, the analysis and statements are not supported by evidence offered in the passage. More endavours are expected to figure out whether arctic deers are really dying out and what are the reasons leading to this.