Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education has for many years been the most accepted way of delivering knowledge. The prompt suggests that this method of education has a restraining effect on the learner’s thoughts. In my opinion, the given statement is mostly true however, there is one point it does not consider.

For any system to succeed, stability is an important factor. A formal education gives students a pre-decided curriculum with fewer choices along the way. For example, if a student excels in Science, this is observed at a young age in school. Routine assessments and competition from peers motivate the student to work harder and better herself at Science. As she has maintained a good academic record, she finds it easier to get into a good college thus, securing her future. This demonstrates that a formal education increases the chances of students sticking to the path paved out for them by the system, rather than losing the way because of the freedom an informal education system may give them. However, the same system can have its own share of disadvantages.

Teachers and parents have many expectations from students to get into a reputed college. The competition for the same makes this an immensely stressful process. Even after getting in, weekly submissions and demanding subjects give students very less time to set aside for personal projects and hobbies. As a result, one tends to lose touch with their intuitive, creative side. Mark Zuckerberg, founder and CEO of Facebook, famously dropped out of Harvard after his sophomore year, to build his infant social media platform into a multi-billion-dollar company. This illustrates perfectly that formal education can be physical and mentally draining, leaving little room for exploring.

It can also be argued that, formal education does not provide students with enough hands-on experience they need to succeed in the real world. Instead, in most countries high weightage is given only to theoretical examinations. For example, if a person is taught about parts of a car in a classroom with a presentation and books, he understands the principles behind its working. However, as he will never fully understand the working of a car until he is presented the opportunity to drive one. Moreover, dull methods of teaching, may cause him to lose interest. Thus, formal education constricts students to a limited aspect of a subject.

It can be concluded that, formal education is a complex issue with its own upsides and downsides. For students, freedom and experiences are as important as curriculum and focus.