Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education expects us to follow the beaten path and thus restrains us to a specific way of learning, rather than setting us free. Formal Education prevents us from precious experience with life which cannot be obtained by sitting in a classroom.

Formal education is Monotonous. It has a specific time period, specific amount of topics to study and is based on some or the other grading system. This traps students into a specific 'cage' of Study. They have a very little scope to explore new things other than studying old ones. It transforms students into tamed and trained horse in the sport of Horse racing, whose sole aim is to run along the 'fenced' track to win.For instance, A student has to study 4-5 Subjects including Math, Science, Literature, History.etc. The student has to complete his work within specified deadlines, even if he requires more time to understand it. He cannot focus on one subject and explore on it for longer time as, he has to focus on other subjects too. The students are then judged by a banal grading Test, which asks the same questions for years and years without creativity. This system forces students to focus on acquiring higher grades than actually understanding the pith of a certain subject. This prevents them from exploring the desired subjects, which might shape their future.

Moreover, Formal education focuses only on few subjects. The subjects which the Syllabus makers think unimportant are given less priority in grading system. This demotivates students desiring to study such subjects. Students then have to study undesired subjects, resulting in obtaining less grades and also losing interest in education. For instance, a Student having an artistic acumen will love to focus and pursue arts rather than other subjects. But since arts have less importance than the so-called more technical subjects like Sciences and Math, the subject of Art will be considered inferior, and the student will need to study these technical subjects to get a decent grades to pass the class. This also has negative effect on the overall grades of the students in a class. Not all students can be good at scoring grades, and definitely not good in subjects they dislike. Thus Formal education snatches the freedom to follow your desires and passion.

However, Some people might say that Formal education is disciplined and well organised as it has more holistic approach. This approach can help people to discover and explore their passion in various subjects, but helps a little for the people who have already decided their field of study. This approach acts like a unnecessary burden for those and drags them down in their pursuit by becoming a hurdle in their way.

Thus, Formal Education which was aimed for educating students and making them able to think free is defeating its own purpose by restraining minds to do only specifically preferred tasks and doing injustice to the others. This has surely trapped the minds and spirits than setting them free.