“The function of art is not keep pace with science and technology but rather to provide an escape from these forces.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement made by the author is that the function of art is not to keep pace with science and technologies; rather it must be an escape route from it. The statement holds very true according to me. The modern day science and technological fields and art have nothing in common. These are two different domains and cannot be compared to each other.

Firstly, Art does not even have to be in a race with technology and science. The later is a domain that is tries to alleviate the life of mankind. But art is something that displays the creativity and talent that man possesses. Art is a world of its own, where people indulge themselves and go deep into their minds and souls to create something spectacular in various forms like painting, dance, etc. It has various philosophies and definitions of its own that prove its worth. So art, in particular, has comparison grounds with science and technology. For example, an artist cannot be asked to create a new kind of texture or art form to try and beat a very useful technological gadget innovated recently. But the innovation and newness brought by the artist will be revered for itself.

And also, people living in this fast paced, ever running generation, striving twenty four hours every day to bring something to mankind that makes life more luxurious and comfortable. And particularly science and technology have an upper hand doing so. The role played by art is not to race against these dominating fields for existence, but it is to help the frustrated, irritated and saturated people away from it. Art is a very powerful recreational medium and can sway people away from the hectic day to day routines for time being. This helps people pacify and have a peaceful mindset while doing their respective hectic jobs.

One can relate art and technology in a different perspective though. Here ‘art’ can flourish and improve by the bolstering of technology and science. Science and various technologies can help us to understand art, study it and improvise it further. Like, many scientific techniques where used to understand the painting techniques of the great Mona Lisa, and also to preserve it. Even technology shares a respectful hand, like nowadays people can easily let their creativities out using smart phones, anywhere they may be.

So, I believe that art is not something that competes or has to race against science and technology. Rather, the former itself is a powerful tool, and the two go hand in hand. The more they support each other, directly or indirectly, the more advancement can be achieved in the respective fields.