The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

To argue what is a good indicator of a nation's greatness, it is important to clear the definition of greatness. Does it describe how good a country is at maintaining the living standard of its general public or does it mean how influencing it is in the grand scheme of human history. In my opinion, it is the latter definition. A country's greatness is normally associated with its international influence, which depends on its economic and military power rather than the welfare of that nation's people. While not all great nations have influential figures, there are many great nations in the history remembered by its great leaders, certainly more than the ones remembered by its outstanding social welfare. Last but not least, good social welfare sometimes is a result of bad economic policy. These countries quickly decline due to lavish social welfare spending, indicating that the general welfare is not a good measure of a country's greatness.