The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

In 2008, a propaganda video of Chinese iamge was shown on the big screen on the Time Square, and I learned from the reports in press that the video provided a good chance for foreign people to get some knowledge about China. Contrary to the mainstream media, I felt doubted about the real effect of the video: does a collection of celebrities in different fields present the whole Chinese people? The aspects of viewing history vary from person to person. Nontherless, I agree that the effects of viewing a country through its famous figures are very limited. Other things,like economic level and education, howeve,r provide a more vivid picture of the common people's daily life.

No one feels strange about the term GDP, which measuring a country's productivity. Indeed, social scientists always refer economic data when they study peopel's life in a nation. For example, in almost every scholar study about the great dynasty,Tang(during the 8th century), scholars usually add weight to the ascription of the economic boom to explain its culture development, the poet creation reached its peak in that time. The greatness of a nation or a period does not reflect from less the achievment of its elites than the social improvment. The great achievement, however, is just the benefector of such improvement. Therefore, I believe that to judge a nation's achievement, one should focus on its general welfare rather than the social elites.

Yet the celebrities' contribution to the view cannot be ignored for celebties leave the direct impression on common pepple in the latter time. Unlike scholars, they have no path to history decoments, and thus, their impression are just based on the some specific historic events. When talking about the Victorcians, the first reaction of us might be some titans in literature, Bacon or Shakespear. For ordinary people, what shakespears said was just what they thought the ordinary people said. I admit that we have soem biases when viewing the history, so that concenration on the famous people does not have much benefit for us to get some kenoledge of a glory period. Probably that helps to explain why the public always misinterpret the history of a nation.

It is undoubted that the achievement of famous people does provides some valuable reference when we judge a nation's greatness. Although the study of famous people is indispensible, I do believe that the concentration should shift to some general things, economy, eduction, medicine level or argriculture for these facts are deeply involved in people's life, and thus, is a good witness of history.