The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Nation is always represented by the best among its people. From ancient times we can remember only its better counterparts than how it treated its people. From the Roman Senators to the Pharaohs of Egypt, we measure them by the most briliant and daring among them, these are the people who will save the nation in times of danger. Thus a nation's greatness is best measured by its achievements than by the welfare of its people.

As the saying goes " Strength of a chain is measured by its weakest link " , the population tend to believe that nations well being should be measured on how much it spends on the poor and needy, this is indeed true. A nation how much ever it can earn should always look after its downtrodden. When we look at USA, we can observe a lot of the governments budget is spent on welfare such as Medicare, Medicaid etc, likewise we can observe the same situation in Denmark or Norway where, even more of the country's budget is spent in welfare. But the crucial issue we are not considering here is the overall dedication and happiness people posses. Even though having less poor in a country is very important, it is not necessary that a nation has to spend a lot on it; this is exemplified in USA being the best in all technological breakthroughs and medical care where as Sweden is known for Clash of Clans and Pewdiepie.

From time immemorial we have always looked up at the best among the people. The great rulers of the roman empire, philosopher of Greece and, great artists and inventor of the renaissance. Even in the 20th century we remember the great scientists such as Einstein, Marie Cure, Oppenhiemer who have ushered in a new age of scientific enquiry and technology, but we easily forget about the hardships faced at that time. The economic crash, two world wars etc, which has considerably less impact to us know compared the previous ones.

This does not mean to say that, we shouldn't look after the weak. The very nature of discoveries, arts or the greatness of rulers helps the populous in giving hope and certainty, this helps them overcome the difficulties they are facing. The threats can be further ameliorated by various social programs and charities. Thus helping everyone in the society.

Thus a nations success should be measured by the success of its rulers, artists and scientists, this is strongly linked with the general welfare of the nation. A healthy and wealthy nation can only bring out the best among its people.