The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Common welfare of a country should be a better symbol of nation's greatness rather than achivement of rulers, artists or scientist, as the author asserts. It is the responsibilities for a country to improve the citizen's welfare in order to ensure the people's living standard, but in some cases, a country should also pay more attentions on the achievement of other realms. In my opinion, a government should both improve its general welfare and the score of the higher level field.

At first, it is good for a country to improve their common welfare if the country is encountering some problems such as difficulty of finding a medical service or that of seeking a job position. Because it can keep a stability of the society for avoiding people who losed their job and that without any financial source have to rob or steal. For example, in some North-Europe country with high welfare for people, the security of the whole society remain constant become almost all of people could have ability to find a content job position that provides a good financial income for them. What's more, it is because of the high welfare in North Europe country that the people could have a opportunity to have a free medical care and education in their city, which means that people living there could see a doctor or go to school without paying any money. If the country could give the citizen enough welfare, people would be proud of their government and the country would be to some extent great for the people.

Nevertheless, the achievement of the higher realm of the country could also be regarded as achievements. Higher achievement could improve the country's prestige in the global society. For example, the biologist YouYou Tu, who has successfully invented the artemisinin in order to solve the dangerous problem made by the malaria, fill up the blank for curing a specific dangerous disease at that time. Her reaserch consequence of the artemisinin was published in almost all of the well-known academic magazine such as SCI, EI and SCIENCE. Not only was her achievement in the biology science save thousands of people's live, but also the achievement fosters the progress of science in the whole world and global academy. Bill Clinton, the first Ameican leader and still the only president who made the country without any debt. In his time, he innovatively established the NAFTA, which is the short of North Ameican Free Trade Agrement, with Mexico and Canada. The US economy has experienced a considerable improvemnt after the constituting that new agreement and remain economy progress energy in the last several decades.

All in all, it would be essential for a country to focus both on the general welfare and the achievement in higher field, which would cause the whole country acquire good reputation both in the common citizen and the global society.