The given recommendation emphasizes that money should be invested in arts. Arts can comprise of various creative designs,different aesthetic sculptures, form symbols of culture and representation of ones ideas. Recommendation suggests that the government should commensurate the amount of money invested in arts and military. Currently, every country, in which ever financial condition is investing in military and sacrificing the well-being of its people. The governments should reduce the amount invested in military and increase funding for various fields such as education, infrastructure, arts, etc. Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In our contemporary environment, military funding accounts for more than 40 percent of the budget, in most of the countries. Furthermore, the military funding is provided by sacrificing the necessary requirements of the citizens. Arts is important but it is not that imperative that healthcare, education, infrastructure are neglected to fund it. Furthermore, Arts does not require lots of investment and certainly is very Lilliputian in comparison to military budget. Also, with the development of other fields the development of arts would too take place. To provide similar funds for arts and military, there has to be a massive cut in the investments in other streams of development.

For example, The united nations study regarding the military expenditure of all the countries combined suggests that, ceasing of investment in military for 5 months, would provide free education to all the citizens on earth for the next 36 years. The study cites that there has been tremendous amounts of investment in the military, which should be attenuated for public welfare. Furthermore, the study also suggests that to increase further funding for military, increase in taxes, reduction in free healthcare and inflation of prices are carried out, putting further stress on the economy of the country. The requirement of such heavy arsenal of weapons is also not warranted as many countries have not gone to war in decades, furthermore, rapid development is not required in a field that already has been aided for many years. If the investment would have been done for public welfare such as cancer treatment, development of efficient energy consumption mechanisms and creation of job opportunities, the world would be free from more than 90 percent of its current problems. With the current problems in public welfare sectors, development of arts would take a back seat. Countries, where public interests are satisfied and protected, military funding can be cut short to bolster investments in arts.

Additionally, North Korea is another example of the negative impact of excess military investment has resulted into a serious crisis. Sacrificing public welfare and investing in military has caused the country to be marred by starvation and draught. People are suffering with no proper infrastructure, all for military strength. Furthermore, even if money was invested in arts, there would be no one to relish the art culture or pursue it due to the ill effects of starvation and draught. Military and arts both are not imperative for public welfare, eduction, healthcare and food require more amount of funding. The recommendation if implemented in north Korea would further aggravate their troubles.

In conclusion, funding should be provided first to the sectors, which directly impact the lives of the citizens. Government should prioritize the issues according to their impact on public. To reiterate, military and arts are not as important as education, healthcare, public infrastructure, provisioning of resources, etc. A country whose citizens well-being are taken care of, can invest in arts by cutting short military investments.