Government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts

I remember my first visit to a museum. It was a history museum in Bogota that used art pieces to tell the story of Colombia's independence. It was love at first sight; I was seventeen! Can you believe it? That sounds weird for a first visit to a museum, right? However, most Colombians have limited access to museums because there are none in their towns. My hometown was no exception. So, I had to wait until I moved to Bogota for college, to learn about museums.

Museums are places where children, teenagers, and adults can interact with and learn about art and history, hence their importance. Governments should ensure these institutions have enough funding and are accessible to all their citizens. Funding museums implies funding the art that they will exhibit, as well. Art is an undervalued profession in most developing and under-developed countries. The artist that attempts to pay the bills with his or her art will soon meet with difficulties.

Due to the lack of museums, art seems tedious to most citizens, who show little or no interest in learning about it. A chain reaction is created: since people are not interested in museums, the government does not include them in its agenda. Therefore there is no funding to support art; the artist has to search for other job opportunities, generating a lack of autochthonous art expressions in an area, which increases people's disinterest in art.

Art is not just a painting on the wall; art is culture as a tangible object. Preserving it should be considered as important as protecting our cultural traditions. But art is not a self-sufficient business. Because of the lack of appreciation for it, people do not want to pay to visit museums. For this reason, it is crucial that the government guarantees, through proper funding, the access of all citizens to museums. Low-cost tickets or free entrance, and more museums could be the first steps to breaking the chain and nurturing a community that values more art in developing and under-developed countries.

Although government sponsorship is important for the survival of art in certain countries, this should not compromise artists' freedom. Art must be independent and faithfully represent the thoughts of the artist. Unfortunately, words are not enough to ensure this. That is why it is necessary to create legislation that protects the artist and his or her artwork from manipulation and intervention by any government.

Art needs the government's support to thrive. Without it, citizens are less willing to visit museums and value art, and the job of the artist is compromised. However, the funding should not endanger the integrity of the artwork. Consequently, it is important to create laws that ensure art’s freedom.