Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government officials are the cogs in the figurative machine that runs a country, namely the government. They have some of he most important jobs in a country as what they do directly affects the citizens of that country. The prompt claims that rather than unquestioningly serve the will of the people, government officials should use their own judgement. While this may be a double-edged sword as what the people say should always be taken into account, I tend to mostly agree with the prompt due to the following reasons.

First of all, people's opinions and what they want in issues involving the government are many times of an impulse nature, and have the tendency to sway heavily in short periods of time. In that, the sentiment of people regarding their government and its officials at a particular time plays a heavy role in their opinion of any issue that arises at that time. For example, take the example of a government pursuing an infrastructure project. If the government were to be involved in a controversy before announcing the infrastructure project, people's approval of the government would be at a low value, this also gives political ammo to their opponents, who would further fuel the negative emotion. This sentiment would affect people's opinion of the aforementioned infrastructure project. But this emotion is ephemeral, and so it would serve the government officials that began the project ill to cancel it. In these kinds of situations, the officials have to use their own judgement and see beyond emotion and temporary opinions.

Speaking of judgement of government officials, secondly, these government officials were hired because they possessed the skillset pertaining to the job, and so are entrusted with making decisions that can affect a lot of people. For example, take the example of a crowded city in which government officials have started a metro rail project to ease congestion. While the construction is going on, people may be displeased at the further trouble caused by the construction and may ask for it to stop, but the officials that started the project would know that while the inconvenience caused may be notable, the people would be much better off in the future.

On the other hand, it is also true that absolutely not listening to what the public wants is unwise. Government officials are present to serve the people, and are obliged to listen to what the people want. Not to mention, government officials are also susceptible to corruption, so it is not always that they work keeping the best interests of the people in mind, and so their judgement might be skewed.

In conclusion, while it is true that government officials should rely on their own judgement, as they were hired because they possessed the necessary skills, it is also true that their judgement might be biased in order to favour themselves, as corruption is a widespread phenomena among government officials. The answer may not be as binary as one would think.