Government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The author asserts that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than make efforts to handle the potential issues of the future. Since pressing issues can more directly influence people’s lives, there is no denying that urgent matters need to be dealt with immediately. I agree with the author’s claim to a certain degree. However, the problem in the future might be critically harmful to human beings in the long-term perspective unless it would not be solved properly in time. Therefore, in the following essay, it shall be argued the downside of the author’s assertion.

Admittedly, the issues at hand need to be dealt with urgently. These kinds of problems are more directly connected to most of society’s members. Thus, the government should make proper efforts to secure necessary conditions of living. Specifically, basic living standards are closely connected to the public’s demand for government roles such as handling unemployment and housing problem. If these realistic problems are not treated well, it might threaten the stability of society. Another example that can be cited is that under the circumstances like pandemics or epidemics, governmental intervention is crucial by implementing surveillance policy and providing medical assistance to stabilize society and secure citizens’ lives. In a similar vein, we can witness the escalation of violence worldwide, such as the military coup in Myanmar, Afghanistan ruled by repressive government, and the Israel-Palestine conflict. These situations need help from the international society that consists of representing each government unless numerous people’s lives can be seriously in danger. The government should contribute to protecting people from violent threats. These examples present the importance of issues at hand take precedence over potential problems.

However, the problems in the future might be a threat in larger scale if it is not appropriately dealt. For instance, climatic abnormalities – El Niño or La Nina – as well as global warming issues should not be ignored by the public and its government. Since it does not produce a tangible threat now, however, it could be a critical threat to human beings. In an effort to prevent these environmental problems Kyoto Protocol was ratified by many nation-states, and Paris declaration voiced the warning of global climatic change. Similarly, numerous environmental issues have emerged since vigorous economic development was achieved. Fossil fuel and many natural resources are going to be depleted in time. In an effort to solve this problem, ISS(International Space Station) research is undergoing to explore human habitats other than the earth. It takes lots of money, effort, and time to make progress in international space research. Now, it seems void effort because the expected result is not immediately produced. However, gradual improvement eventually makes the human being’s life better. As discussed above, these reasons and examples show that for the well-being of human beings solving the potential problem is also necessary

In conclusion, the government should make a considerable effort to solve the immediate problem as well as the potential problem to stabilize not only the current society but also secure future one.