Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The speaker asserts that government should not focus on solving short-term problems but future problems. I totally disagree with the speaker. In my view, governments should not tackle one of them but tackle both of them. I will use some aspects explain my view, considering extremely condition: focusing on solving only long-term or only short-term problems.

Solving the problems is the responsibility of governments. Governments have to maintain social order constantly, to provide welfare of people, and to protect people from attacks by criminal. To perform this duty, governments should deal with both immediate and anticipated problems. Although the problems focused on the short term by the government can see an immediate effect, these are not a good operation in the long term if long-term problems were ignored. The unemployment rate is good example. When unemployment rate are increasing, Governments must reckon what is main problems and then consider how they solve unemployment in the long term except for giving unemployment compensation. In a word, governments should not tackle one problems that are immediate or future problems, but should consider both anticipated problems and short-term problems.

Focusing on solving only immediate problems has a negative effect on country. Since long-term problems and short-term problems have a significant correlation, if governments not tackle the short-term problems, how can they handle long-term problems? Solving the immediate problems plays a key role in long-term problems, such as national development. National development must deal with immediate project process, and then do a long-term planning. Without dealing with project process, long-term planning will not be handled well. Therefore, the government should not stop handling immediate problems in order to tackle future problems. In short, since long-term problems and short-terms problems have a correlation, governments could not choose dealing with one of them.

Further, considering long-term problems has a positive influence on solving short-term problems. To solve the social problems, such as the increasing crime rate, the government should solve short-term problems completely. Because those immediate social disorders will cause serious long-term problems in the long run, it is necessary to deal with. For example, we consider COVID-19 should be a short-term problem originally, but it has become a long-running problem due to the negligence of everyone. In brief, Government should solve the short-term problems completely to effectively tackle long-term problems.

In sum, since long-term problems and short-term problems have a significant correlation, government should not deal with only one of them. So, I fundamentally disagree with speaker.