You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person's honest is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

For school life, sometimes we have to choose a student as a group leader, and what types of student should we choose is the most difficult question. Some people believe that honest is the most important when it comes to choosing a leader, while others think of creativity and social abilities as important quality as well. I hold the opinion that there are other important qualities as well when we choose a leader.

Admittedly, honest person can strengthen relationships between groups. Honest one affects people with honesty, so people in the group trust each other. Similarly, under the leadership of an honest person, people develop closer friendships and become intimate. Also, teachers and staff in the school can trust the honest leader. Sometimes, school groups or organizations need to raise funds. For instance, most clubs in the school launched fundraising for organizing the event on the Sports Day. Meanwhile, if club leaders were not honest, they would use this opportunity to line their personal pockets. It is important that the honest leader improve friendships in the group and let the group possess an excellent reputation.

However, creativity and social skills are still crucial qualities for being a leader. A creative leader is able to come up with a new idea for the group like organizing a new party, or activity. Furthermore, if the leaders are good at socializing, they will be able to forge great relationships with other organizations and groups. In other words, the groups have more opportunities to corporate with other groups. This will not only increase the reputation of the groups but also help the groups have more opportunities to raise funds. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this. Thanks to my club leader, we often cooperated with other big and populous clubs, so our club was well-known as well despite being small. Two years ago, my club launched a fundraising, and we ended up receiving a big fortune. Therefore, choosing a leader with creativity and social ability is crucial to the groups and organizations.

To sum up, even though being honest is important when it comes to choosing a leader in the group and organization, creativity and social skills are also crucial to them. This is because choosing a leader with creativity and social abilities has positive effects on them. Hence, I consider that there are other important qualities when we choose a leader except for honesty.