You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person's honest is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

In school life, sometimes we have to choose a student as a group leader, and what types of student we can choose is the most difficult question. Some people believe that honesty is the most important characteristic when they select a leader, while others take creativity and social abilities into consideration. I hold the opinion that other important qualities have to consider as well when we choose a leader.

Admittedly, an honest person can strengthen relationships between people in the group. Honest one affects people with honesty, so people in the group trust each other. Similarly, under the leadership of an honest person, people develop closer friendships and become intimate. Also, everyone in the school trust the honest leaders no matter what kinds of group or organization. Sometimes, school groups or organizations need to raise funds. For instance, most clubs in the school launched fundraising for organizing the event on the Sports Day. Meanwhile, if club leaders were dishonest, they would use this opportunity to line their pockets. As a result, this will be detrimental to the club’s reputation, even forcing the club to be abolished. It is obvious that the honest leader improves friendships in the group and lets the group possess an excellent reputation.

However, creativity and social skills are also crucial qualities that have to take into account when we choose a leader. A creative leader can come up with a new idea like organizing a new party, or activity. Furthermore, if a leader is good at socializing, the group will be able to forge great relationships with other groups. In other words, the group has more opportunities to corporate with other groups. This will not only enhance the group’s reputation but also help the group have more opportunities to secure funds. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this. Thanks to my club leader, who was an easygoing and friendly person, we often cooperated with other big-and-popular clubs, so our club was well-known as well despite being small. Two years ago, my club launched fundraising, and we ended up receiving a big fortune. Therefore, choosing a leader with creativity and social ability is crucial to the group or organization.

To sum up, even though honesty is important for people to select a leader in a group or organization, creativity and social skills are also crucial. This is because choosing a leader with creativity and social abilities has positive effects on the group or organization. Hence, I consider that except honesty, other important qualities have to take into account when we choose a leader.