Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the best way to ensure student become truly educated is requiring students to take a various of courses that are different from major field. Some people reckon that schools couldn’t force such policy; However, schools have resources to force this policy, and research how to fulfill it. In addition, such policy helps university to fulfill their social responsibility. And students will benefit from such policy; Thus, I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, requiring students to take a curriculum that are different from students’ major fields helps university accomplish their social obligation. The university has to help country train expert in order to maintain continuous development of country. In many schools, there are many reforms to ensure every students can learn at least two courses that are different from students’ major field, since schools hope students can find out second expertise but not confine to their major field. For example, in Taiwan, students must study three courses that are different from students’ major field; Through studying variety courses, schools hope students fulfill them to facilitate occupational development in the future, and then make country improving. In sum, schools have responsibility of requiring students to study variety courses in order to make country progressing.

Additionally, Students will also benefit from such policy. Since taking various courses improve students’ ability to deal with the problems, students will increase the probability of success in the future. As the world has changed fast, students who has only study one type of courses is incapable of catching up with others’ pace. Take semiconductor industry as an example; In company, there are many employee that have different backgrounds: Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Material Sciences. When students know many other knowledges that are different from major field, students have more possibility of outperform in the company. In a word, student will benefit from this policy, since being a generalist has positive effect on occupational development in the future.

Finally, this recommendation is totally practical after considering schools’ resources. Schools has enough resources to research how to help students design a series of the curriculum, and design a new system of choosing courses. At the same time, schools can save more time and money, and all revision is convenient because only the relevant sector assistant such policy, which makes policy more effective. In Taiwan, for instance, because only the academic affair office manages education information, including helping students to choose course and arranging curriculum, students choosing courses can go smoothly every semesters. In a brief, as schools have resources, requiring students to choose a variety of course is practical.