Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the best way to ensure students become truly educated is by requiring students to take various courses that are different from their major field. Some people reckon that schools couldn’t force such policy; However, in my point of view, schools have resources to force this policy and research how to fulfill it. In addition, such a policy helps the university to fulfill its social responsibility. And students will benefit from such a policy; Thus, I strongly agree with the speaker.

To begin with, requiring students to take a curriculum that is different from students’ major fields helps university accomplish their social obligation. The university has to help the country train expert to maintain the continuous development of the country. In many schools, there are many reforms to ensure every student can learn at least two courses that are different from students’ major field since schools hope students can find out second expertise but not confine to their major field. For example, in Taiwan, students must study three courses that are different from students’ major fields; Through studying a variety of courses, schools hope students fulfill them to facilitate occupational development in the future and then make the country improving. In sum, schools have the responsibility of requiring students to study various courses to make the country progressing.

Additionally, students will also benefit from such a policy. Since taking various courses improve students’ ability to deal with problems, students will increase the probability of success in the future. As the world has changed fast, students who have only studied one type, of course, are incapable of catching up with others’ pace. Take the semiconductor industry as an example; In the company, many employees have different backgrounds: Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Material Sciences. When students know many other pieces of knowledge that are different from the major field, students have more possibility of outperforming in the company. In a word, the student will benefit from this policy, since being a generalist has a positive effect on occupational development in the future.

Finally, this recommendation is totally practical after considering schools’ resources. Schools can think about how to help students design a series of the curriculum, and design a new system of choosing courses. At the same time, schools will save more time and money, and all revision is convenient because only the relevant sector assistant such policy, which makes policy more effective. In Taiwan, for instance, because only the academic affairs office manages education information, including helping students to choose the course and arranging curriculum, students choosing courses can go smoothly every semester. In a brief, as schools have resources, requiring students to choose a variety of courses is practical.

To sum up, firs of all, schools are responsible for requiring students to choose a variety of course. On the other hand, students will benefit from it. And then, schools have resources to force this policy; So I totally agree with what the speaker says.