Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

What are the responsibilities of any democratic government towards its citizens? Does the arts field is as important as military when it comes to budget distribution? Well, the argument suggests that the government should invest as much in the arts as they do in military. The statement is too extreme to be agree with, however, I believe that the government should invest in the arts after all the basic necessities of their citizens will be satisfied, and regardless how much the government has invested in the military.

The government has responsibility to provide all the basic needs to its citizens like : Food, good education, safe residential, and protection to their human-rights and their safety. After these necessities have been satisfied, the government can invest into the artistic fields to encourage the art because if people's basic needs and safety are the most important aspect for any nation. When people's basic needs will be protected and satisfied, then the other things like the arts or leisure will matter.

We know that the democratic government means-by the people, for the people and to the people. The government has responsibilities to provide safe environment to its public. For example, we know every year the United States allocates billions of dollars of investment in the military for the improvement in the facilities and research and development of new weapons to show how strong the US's defense system is. Large part of budget goes to military every year and it is necessary too as other countries are developing nuclear weapons too. If the country tries to invade into our country will must answer them back if it requires. Therefore, nations invest huge part of their budget into the military.

However, the government cannot just focus on the military too as their are other important fields like education, employment issues, economical crisis, internal problems within the system, crimes, health-care, public transports, etc. If the government invest as much in the arts as they do in the military, they won't have adequate budget to satisfy above requirements. Thus, I believe that any government should provide budget for basic necessities and then they can invest into the arts.

In the final analysis, the government should invest into the arts as the artist are the ones who will represent the nation at inter-national levels. But the government should not undermine the importance of the military and other basic needs of people too.