Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

All the scientific research across the world requires funding to progress and achieve their target. Most of the researchers in any point of period in their research ask to be funded by government. The prompt suggests that the Governments should not fund any scientific research with unclear consequences. I mostly agree that the governments should spend only on those research with clearly specified outcome because of reason listed below while also conceding to those cases where the unclear research have brought up the significant change in the history of science.

To begin, Research are being carried in almost every field of science and in every country. If the government starts on funding on all those research with no certainty that their target will be met, then the money is going to go all down the drain. For instance, A scientist, or "a innovator", was trying to generate electricity from gravity in Nepal. He made a huge equipment with many parts and conducted a lot of tests. He asked the government for funds. The government declined the request because the results were not certain. Afterwards, he persuaded some investors in it and got the required funds. After a lot of tests, when no outcome was received, his investors lost their hope and backed out. The research halted and was proved to be false and not possible at the time. Had the government funded the project, the money would have been wasted for sure. Research such as this are the reason why the government need to investigate before investing the hard-earned tax money of the people. Government can save the fund for the really good projects whose results are guaranteed and can bring positive change to the world which would seem difficult if government starts funding on all unclear research.

While, the government needs to do its own research properly before funding on any projects and abstain from wasting money of the people, it is also true from historical facts that many scientific progress are brought upon by mistake. While searching for some outcome, the scientist has stumbled to another result and that has changed the face of the world many times. For instance, Albert Einstein was working on Theory of Relativity when he came across photo-electricity. Photo-electricity has now been used in almost all sectors in the world and has been considered now strongly as a good measure for alternate source of fuel. This uncertain research of Einstein is able to solve the future problem of energy crisis in incredible amount. There are many examples of mistakenly encountered research where the scientist had planned for entirely different outcome. Research as these are a reason for government to fund the projects that might be uncertain.

So, While I agree with the prompt that government should only fund to research whose consequences are certain, I also concede to the fact that many unwarranted research has brought positive changes and significant impact to this world. Therefore, this is still a debated topic in the world among researchers, who are in need of the funds desperately to continue their research and government officials who are not sure of the outcome.