Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Our modern world is so advanced today because of the good work done by scientists and researchers’ hard and consistent work and remarkable ideas. We would not be this advanced in technological and sociological ways if it were not for the outstanding innovations made by them. It is they who made it possible for the world to fight and survive numerous diseases. Their constant hard work in research made it possible for the world to overcome the recent pandemic that is the covid-19. They studied the virus and its different strains and came up with the vaccinations and thus saving millions of lives. And not only for the covid-19, but research also made it possible for mankind to survive several deadly diseases from smallpox, Spanish flu, and plague to the modern world diseases like covid-19.

However, all these were not possible without several trials which may include having animals as test subjects. This practice is in existence since ancient times. Since animals do not have a voice, we think it is our right to use them as test subjects and carry on the tests which may be fatal for them. Not all research needs to test on animals but there are still some experiments that scientists carry out by testing on voiceless innocent animals. If governments could impose some restrictions on animal usage for testing then unnecessary tests which lead to animal cruelty may be eradicated. It will preserve our animal kingdom and several innocent animals will be granted their freedom for life.

Research and development also need several tests to be done for creating explosives. It not only damages resources and the earth but also risks the lives of all the people involved. And our nature is already at stake due to global warming and pollution but even then, numerous tests related to technological inventions are carried out which increases harm to mother earth. For example, sparrows which were one of the most common birds to be seen are now rarely seen. This is because there has been a drastic decrease in their population because of electromagnetic waves produced by cellphone towers.

Our nature is constantly attacked because of such development and scientific research. Surely development and innovations have benefitted us all but there must be a limit for every practice because if in the end the world does not survive then how will this development be useful? And such limitations can only be imposed by the government. Thus, putting some restrictions on scientific research and development will not harm or reduce the advancement of the world but it will surely be a boon to our nature and eventually mankind.