Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

We are in the 21st century, where one can experience their association with technology in day to day life. Waking up the alarm, commuting to office by metro trains, wearing a sports watch to keep up with the daily recommended exercise by WHO and many more. These examples are testimony to way technology has dominated in last few decades. But at the back of our mind, we all know, that these innovations would not have been possible without scientific research. In fact, research is one the key factor in determining the well being of a society and growth of Nation. So rather than putting sanctions on research government should fund more and more research in coming days.

The world is already moving toward multi polarity and in these times it is of utmost importance to any nation to be more and more self-dependent. Government will have to develop and provide aid, to more and more research institutes in order to achieve the goal of being self-dependent. The ties between the friendly countries are more transient now than ever before. Consider for example, the long-term relationship between Saudi Arabia and United states. America has been arms supplier to Saudi for decades and reciprocally Saudi has fed the need of Americas gasoline. But recently American defence systems were unable to thwart attacks on the Saudi refineries which in turn has made Saudi to fund research on developing indigenous defense equipment’s. Apart from that there are several achievements in medical field for the welfare of humanity, one of such is fighting virus Ebola. Ebola vaccine development was made possible only by research.

In addition to that the research has been the major driver of the economy for many countries such as Russia. Russia has developed many modern arms and defense equipment’s through decades of research. It has been estimated that 20% of their GDP share comes from arms and ammunition export to counties like India, China, Iran etc. S-400, one of the most advanced missile systems, is a great example.

Therefore, let it be medical or technological advancement, they are both achieved through research. If a government fails to provide support for research and development, then it may experience issues like brain-drain, slowing economy, and in in some worst cases the country may even have rivals to challenge their territory. NASA is, for example, has space scientists from almost all across the world. Around 36% of these scientists are believed to be Indian decent. These Indian researchers would have preferred NASA either due lack of research facilities in India or because the scanty government funding. So Government should invest more in research and development facilities