GRE- Educators should base their assessment of student's learning not on student's grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

As the speaker claims, rather than assessing the students' grasp of the facts, educators should evaluate students’ ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate. However, for my perspective, I agree with the speaker with concession. The recommendation can be suitable only when students have grasped the facts already. And examples will be provided to shape my position.

In one sense, we do need to master the facts and know the essence of the things. Generally speaking, it is a cornerstone of education, which we can not resist. Ignoring the digestion of the facts or the theories, only ensuring the competence to illustrate the conceptions, ideas and trends may be perfunctory. It is just like a debating team which has not get the key topic expresses a lot of useless points without any foundations. Without theory basis, strategies and actions to explain the ideas is nothing but fantasy.

In another,just as speaker advised, the ability to explain the ideas and concepts do have merits to our study. In my opinion, instead of memorizing it mechanically explaining the facts by our own can be the best way to comprehend. A famous Chinese man, called Zhao Kuo, was very fond of reading books on military science. He could recite military texts fluently. When discussing warfare, he could spoke so clearly and logically in a comparable degree. However, since Zhao Kuo had no practical experience, he was defeated and lost his life in battle. It refer that the purpose of education is not let students recite the facts and the theories learned from the class, but using these knowledge to resolve problems and answer questions.

Additionally, when convincing other people, explain the ideas, trends and concepts which the facts illustrate briefly can be effective. As we all know, Einstein’s theory of relativity can be difficult to be grasped by the layman. Learning the facts between lines may be difficult and easy to get bored. But Einstein gives us a good example to better explain his theory. He once gave a famous parable: "if a man sat with a beauty for 1 hour, he will feel it seems to be just 1 minute; but if he sat on a hot stove for 1 minute, he will think it seemed to be more than 1 hour." Thus, the ability of learning is not how many the facts you have learned, but whether you have the ability to explain the core of the facts and can help more people understand.