GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

What is the criterion evaluating the greatness of a nation? Some people believe it is the achievements of famous rulers, artists and scientists that account for, while others speak high of the welfare of the whole people for the reason that it is the base for the development of the country. In my opinion, when we evaluate the grandeur of a nation, the major consideration is not how rich it is or the number of awards its elites achieve but whether its people are living happy lives. For that reason, I am more in favor of the latter one because the general welfare is a promise for high standard of both material and spiritual living of its people.

The greatness of a nation lies in whether the material needs of its people are met. A great country should be one where people need not worrying about the problem of starvation - even if people lost there job, they could get help to go through the difficulty. A great country should be one where the young need not worry about the fee of universities – they could have the opportunity to receive high education as long as they are willing to. A great country should be one where the old need not worry about the standard of life – even if their children not able to accompany them, they will be cared by relevant department. Satisfying the material needs of its citizen is the basic duty of a nation and the promise of achievement in any field.

The greatness of a nation also lies in whether the spiritual needs of its people are met. More than just satisfying the basic need of its people, a great nation also pay attention to the spirit needs – whether its people have time for entertainment instead of always doing monotonous jobs and whether every member of the country share the fruits of the nation. Equality and fulfillment – these terrific feeling can be got only if the nation regard the general welfare of its people in the first place.

In fact, there exist a beneficial recycle, only if people are satisfied with its nation will they be willing to work hard for the nation so as to create more fortune and to make more achievement. For that matter, the general welfare of the country, the premise for the accomplishment of its people in the area of policy, art and science, should be regarded as a surer indicator in weighing the greatness of a nation.

It is true that the surest indicator of the greatness of a nation is the general welfare of its people. However, still some other factors should be taken into account when weighing the significance of a country. One of these factors is the achievement of its rulers, artists and scientists. Without regulation, the state apparatus cannot run smoothly; without scientific development, the state cannot improve its technology as to create more fortune; without artistic piecework, the state cannot fully satisfy the spirit needs of its people. Never shall we neglect these factors when considering the greatness of a nation – they are just not as important as the welfare of the whole people.

To sum up, general welfare is the surest indicator of the greatness of a nation because it is the promise for the happiness of the people and the premise for the achievement of the nation. Nonetheless, never shall we overemphasize the importance of general welfare for the reason that too much attention may result in people taking it for granted and always hoping the country to do something to improve their living standard instead of working on their own. It is a dangerous signal which may affect the richness and development of the whole country and thus the welfare of its people. When it happens, the welfare of the people is no longer the sign of the grandeur of the nation.