The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

It has always a question if human mind is better or a machine is better? Well the idea to judge the superiority of one over the other can be broken down into many sub questions. I would like to take in account few of them.

First question would be: Does human mind has a more storage than a machine? To be true, human has been able to build a super computer which can store more data as compared to the human brain. Second question would be: Which is faster while making a decision or calculation. In this domain also human have been able to build super computers which have much higher speed at calculations. This is also supported by the fact that a super computer has been able to beat human chess grandmaster. It is also evident that a single calculator can calculate faster than a normal human brain.

Although the above mentioned factors suggest that the super computer has an upper hand over human mind in memory and speed, there is other side of the coin also. The super computer, which has same memory storage as humans, consumes amount of energy sufficient to run thousands of homes. On the other hand a human brain require minimal amount of energy compared to that. Humans have the ability to take decisions based on emotions and feelings. Anger, success, failure, love, lust, hate are all complex sort of emotions which play a crucial role at making a decision. A machine cannot understand all these complex emotions.

A machine is always pre-programmed. A calculator has been programmed to perform calculations, machine in a car manufacturing plant is programmed to do a specific task, washing machine is programmed to wash clothes etc. All these are the example of machines designed to perform specific task. Until now there is no machine which can decide on all complex tasks like a human brain. The most advanced machine developed to perform human tasks is ASIMO which cannot match standards of a normal mind when it comes to taking complex decisions. Scientists are trying to enhance it but the question that will it be able to go past human ability is still open and can be determined only in future.

Clubbing up all the points I can say that, machines can be superior to humans only on specific tasks however when it comes to comparing brain with machines cumulatively, human brain out powers machines. Coming to the question that will this trend remain in future? It is an open question which depends on future developments and can be answered only in future.