In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

In the current world where knowledge and education is of utmost importance, creativity has its own merits. Sometime thinking out of the box can lead to revolutionary developments in a particular field. So, it becomes the duty of colleges to introduce literary courses which can add creative dimension to the fundamental thinking of their students.

First of all, reading creative novels and imaginative literature facilitates the creative development of reader. It adds dimensions to the reader’s thinking and enables him to think out of box looking for different approaches that he can apply in his normal day to day life. I would like to give example of Steve Jobs, who is considered one of the pioneers in tech industry. He introduced creativity in the tech field by combining arts with technology. He launched products like ipod, ipad, iMac which are amalgamation of sophisticated technology, simplicity and beautiful design. All of his creative achievements were highly influenced by the Zen principles which he studied and followed in his life time.

Secondly, novels and poetry can add moral values to reader’s life. I would like to quote a personal example here. I was reading biography of Louis Zamperini, who is one of the survivors of World War II. He survived plane crash, subsisted in the middle of Pacific Ocean for 47 days feeding on little food and no water. After enduring these lethal conditions he managed to reach Marshall Island where, for relief, he was captivated by Japanese personals. He persevered brutal treatment for years in Japanese prison but never lose hope. He was strong at his will and fought every difficulty with courage. He is an epitome of perseverance.

Although creative works play important role in the all round development of individuals, however a balance is required between creative and fundamental learning. An engineering aspirant or a medical student needs to be thorough about their fundamental concepts and replacement of the fundamental courses with literary courses can have negative impact on their development. Hence a proper balance is required between both of them.

Clubbing all the point stated above, I would like to emphasize that introduction of imaginative literary courses helps in the development of individuals as they add creative and moral values however introduction of these courses should not be at the cost of compromising fundamental courses necessary for the development of individuals in their own field.