There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts— especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the state

The recommendation here raises question whether the efforts invested to save endangered animals or plants species at the cost of money and jobs is justified? I will be favoring the notion by giving an example and also looking at the other side of the coin.

With the advent of human reign on every aspect of nature be it land, water or air, the environment has got deeply affected. Pollution, deforestation, animal killing are few of the contributors which reflect negative human influence on nature. Many species like Pandas, tigers, gray wolfs etc. have become endangered. Since all of these endangered species are a crucial component of a balanced cycle of the ecosystem, the reduction in their population hampers that equilibrium. I would like to give an example to elaborate on this concern.

Gray wolf, which was the major receiver of mass extermination efforts taken by American government, encountered huge reduction in its population from 250,000 to few hundreds. In the absence of wolfs their prey like elks, coyotes, racoons got proliferated exponentially. Since there was no check on elks’ population, they wiped out willows and other riparian plants. Since these were the major food content for song birds, their population got impacted. Since song birds used to keep a check on mosquitoes population, mosquitoes get outnumbered. As one can see the entire cycle gets impacted. Hence it is of utmost importance that balance is maintained. U.S. government has now taken steps in the direction to save Gray wolfs and it can be gladly said that they have now been delisted from endangered species.

The opponents to the concern might say that what are we getting in return in terms of money? At the end, it is true that money matters because one need to feed his family which requires financial assistance, Hence it becomes responsibility of government to ensure that the people who work on this mission not only gets financial aid from the government but also gets a permanent job. Because at the end the mission is aimed at the benefit all living beings. If humans will not take actions in this regards than who will?

Not only public sector can support, private sector can also help in the direction to save endangered species. Examples are Discovery and National geography channel. These channels telecast and spread awareness regarding endangered species and the steps taken in order to save them. They have employed personals who work on the mission to monitor the population of specific species and thereby helps in keeping a check at their population. The personals get paid by the channels which earns money from general public and commercials.

Hence clubbing up all the points I can say that it is justified to save endangered species as it helps in maintaining the balance in ecosystem. While working on this mission we can also ensure money and job with the support from government and business like television channels.