The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the above statement to the extent that human creativity will always be in demand. The machines we employ today have been intentional crafted to help man accomplish tasks he couldn’t accomplish thoroughly or efficiently by himself. Some machines even have the potential to surpass man’s own possibilities, like AlphaGo the first artificial intelligence machine to beat a professional human Go player. However, these machines tend to be in the domains of abstract logic and sequential algorithms. They can never replace man in creativity, pattern recognition, tactile and sensory experiencing, plus real-world application, and they can never present significant threat to our survival.

During World War II, the German enigma code presented a seemingly insurmountable challenge for the Allied military powers. The Nazi regime had declared war on much of Western Civilization, France had already fallen, Russia was effete, and Great Britain was enduring daily bombings. The German industrial complex was much more sophisticated and streamlined than those of their other European counterparts; and to top it off, their impressive war systems and communications were encoded in an unbreakable enigma code. It was at the lead up to this juncture that British mathematician Alan Turing began to ponder how the human mind could be replicated in a machine of wires, gates, and levers. He drafted a binary system of memory, logic units, addressing, and semiconductors; and by use of this machine plus certain fortuitous discoveries about German communication eccentricities present in the enigma code, he reverse-engineered the code and successfully alerted the Allied powers about German battle plans. This provided the West with much-needed impetus to overturn the technological and operational differences on the battlefield. Afterwards, Turing’s enigma machine became the prototype for the first digital computer. One could argue that it was Turing’s ingenuity and frugality that not only provided the mechanic setup of his machine but also alerted him about existing human eccentricities in the code, saving him time and reducing the maximum test possibilities. This was necessity, the mother of inventions at work, and only humans are capable of discovering the physically dire and injurious straits forcing the necessity of invention.

In addition, pencils, penicillin, and tractors are all human inventions too. Are they at a risk of replacing man? That would be an absurd and unverified claim. It is clear that humans can misuse machines, or maybe not quite extract out their maximum benefits, but that is only because we have the luxury and prerogative to. Sure, some people still have not quite mastered how to operate their VCR sets three decades later, but truly formidable machines that risk the survival of our species would have to be put down. The discovery of penicillin, the Allied victory in World War II, combined with heroic tales of Nazi concentration camp survivors show us that humans, as a whole, have an amazing capacity to resist, adjust, and extinguish present and persistent danger.

As a result, I advocate that humans fully harness the power of technology to address the societal ills and injustices that we brandish on one another. Machines are not our enemies, rather we can often be cruel, polarized, and insensitive to ourselves. If humanity fails to fulfill the ideals that we have set for ourselves, it would have been our own fault, not that of the machines.