“If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves socially and culturally.”

In an increasingly materialistic world, we are weakening our basic human relations. Rituals provide an opportunity to decrease the increasing gaps between humans which is very essential as human relations is the bedrock of a prosperous community.

When people of different backgrounds meet during rituals or ceremonies then cultural exchange takes place between them. This helps to bring people together and strengthen the bonds between them. When people meet, exchange of ideas takes place. People talk and transfer various beliefs and thoughts which help in improving both communication skills and knowledge transfer which is very important as life is a continuous learning process.

In the context of a business world, they are very much necessary in order to improve the bonds between employees and organizations. It can be viewed as an excellent mode of networking platform where in it creates and opportunity for people from diverse areas of study or work to come together. This is essential for innovation and collaboration for the greater good of humanity. Increasingly complex problems can also be solved with collaboration and proper communication.

Today, technology is over taking mankind. Children and youth of all ages are attracted to many devices of advanced technology for more than required period of time. Thus, they are losing the opportunity to interact and build social relations with people around them. Rituals and ceremonies give them a platform to know their community and people around them. It bolsters their social skills and increases their understanding of humanity.

It is also to be noted that proper care has to be taken when rituals, ceremonies or festival gatherings happen. Security must be given the highest priority in the increasing world of terrorism and intolerance. Many intricate and complex problems like racism, sexism, terrorism, extremist ideologies can be effaced or eradicated by strengthening bonds and comprehending the community around us.

In today’s world emotional intelligence also plays a keen role apart from technical skills and knowledge. It is necessary to develop social, communication and moral skills to survive and work together. So, rituals and ceremonies play an indispensable role in strengthening the fabric of human relations and hence if they do not exist, must be invented.