"Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time."

It is true that any change to accepted conventional wisdom starts with bold and courageous attempt stepping out of your comfort zone. People become dogmatic about their beliefs and consider any new belief as an attack to their old ones carried out from generations. Truth can be something in contradictory to previous accepted wisdom or it can be some new facts which are not known to people. Hence an attempt to bring out a truth is considered an attack to their widely accepted notions. The truth can be in different area religious, scientific and even personal and wherever it is brought out, it is criticized by everyone because of reluctancy of people to change.

For example, In the sixteenth century widely held notion about the cosmology was that the earth is the center of the solar system. Copernicus discovered the truth which challenged this very notion as a result he had to face great criticism from everyone. People considered him outrageous to challenge church traditional belief but eventually because of his efforts we have gained a new understanding of the universe.

Similarly, in other sectors for example religious people become so adamant and comfortable with their old traditional belief that if you share a new thought it will be consider as a danger to their accepted wisdom. For example, In India earlier it was used to believe that women should not have any existence after the death of her husband. They used to be burnt alive with their husband’s pyre. Raja Rammohan Rai was the first reformer to protest this custom but he had to pay both socially and politically for his remonstration. Finally, after a lot of struggle he was successful to ban this custom.

Even personally by nature most people prefer not to change their ways of life and thinking. Suppose, if a person family is doing farming from many generations. He will comfortable with the idea that his son will be a farmer like him but if his son chooses a different occupation, he will not supportive to his attempt. The truth that there can be other occupations which his offspring can prefer rather than the traditional one can be a discomfit to him.

However, these days, people are becoming more open minded. They are ready to accept new ideas. Our societies all over the world are getting more flexible and open to new truths. Hence, new ideas and truths are accepted peacefully and there are no violent commotions.

Thus, in conclusion whenever a truth is brought on light which challenges the old wisdom or it is something new, which people are not aware of, it will face oppression and criticism from people. However, if the truth holds grounds, it will be eventually accepted after facing trials.